"One of today's preeminent violinists."

The New York Times

Gil Shaham, violin
Akira Eguchi, piano

His lustrous tone matched by masterful phrasing and supremely elegant technique, Gil Shaham is among the world's preeminent violinists. He dazzled audiences at his last Berkeley visit in the 2015–16 season, when he performed Bach's complete solo violin works accompanied by mesmerizing slow-motion video projections: "Joyousness, above all, characterized Shaham's performance...his sound was sustained and powerful...a Bach experience like no other" (San Francisco Classical Voice). Shaham is joined here by longtime collaborator, pianist Akira Eguchi.

Praeludium and Allegro in the Style of Pugnani
Sonata No. 2, The Singing Turk
Sonata No. 3, Nigunim
Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006
Sonata in A Major

Donor Benefits

Donor Parking
As a service to our donors at the $750 level and above, we offer the opportunity to reserve parking for our performances. Reserve parking online 5 business days or more in advance of the performance, or by contacting Cal Performances' Development Department at 510.642.8653 or email donate@calperformances.org.

View my current parking benefits >>

Additional information regarding donor parking benefits can be found on our Donor Services/Parking page.

Program Notes

Program notes will be available approximately one week before the performance.