Ojai at Berkeley 2018
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, music director

2018 Grammy Award Winner Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Cal Performances celebrates its partnership with Southern California's storied Ojai Music Festival with this eighth installment of Ojai at Berkeley, June 14–16, 2018. Each year, an appointed music director re-imagines the festival anew, connecting Ojai's formidable history with their own musical community and unique artistic vision. Ojai at Berkeley 2018 features four concerts curated by and featuring this year's festival music director, the dynamic and versatile violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja. Praised for her "savage energy" (The Washington Post) and "mesmerizing artistry" (The Strad), the Moldovan-Austrian violinist is known for imaginative, surprising programs that connect early music and contemporary works in performances by the world's most engaging musicians. Kopatchinskaja's Ojai at Berkeley series showcases her exceptional abilities as a thrilling soloist, energetic collaborator, and tireless new-music advocate.

"...she plays with an astonishing, folk-like passion...When she leads an orchestra or group—which happens often, all around the world—the other players take on that same impetuous, fiery quality, like iron filings lining up along a magnetic field" (The Telegraph, London).


Thu, June 14, 8pm, Zellerbach Hall
Bye Bye Beethoven
(Bay Area Premiere)

Semi-staged concert conceptualized by Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin and director
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Maria Ursprung, stage director

Kopatchinskaja's first staged concert, already a hit in Europe, weaves together works by Bach, Haydn, Beethoven, Ives, Cage, and Kurtág—as well as a surprise or two! Kopatchinskaja describes the concert as a commentary on "the irrelevance of the classic concert routine for our present life," involving musicians in both conventional and unconventional roles, and placing familiar repertoire in conversation with new sounds and imagery. She is joined by the brilliant Mahler Chamber Orchestra, an international collective of musicians with a flexible instrumentation that is making its Bay Area debut.

Approximate run time: 75 minutes without intermission

Friday, June 15, 8pm, Zellerbach Hall
The Music of Michael Hersch
Ah Young Hong and Kiera Duffy, soprano
Michael Hersch and Amy Yang, piano
Gary Louie, alto saxophone
Members of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Tito Muñoz, conductor

The remarkable American composer Michael Hersch—"a natural musical genius who continues to surpass himself" (The Washington Post)—presents his latest creation, I hope we get a chance to visit soon, a "dramatic narrative" for two sopranos and ensemble (co-commissioned by Cal Performances). The sopranos here are no strangers to bold contemporary music—Kiera Duffy is a 2016 recipient of the Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award, and Ah Young Hong has earned rave reviews in her previous performances of Hersch's work. The program includes additional music for solo saxophone and solo piano by the composer, with Hersch himself at the keyboard.

Approximate run time: 1 hour and 40 minutes with intermission

Saturday, June 16, 2pm, Zellerbach Hall
Romanian and Moldovan Folk Music
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin
Viktor Kopatchinsky, cimbalom
Emilia Kopatchinsky, violin
Maria Krykov, double bass
Amy Yang, piano

Moldovon Folk Music
Horaţiu Rădulescu
Doina for Piano
Doina and Hora
Moldovan Folk Music
György Kurtág
Eight Duos for Violin and Cimbalom, Op. 4
Sonata No. 3 in A minor for Violin and Piano
Moldovan Folk Music
Kopatchinskaja is joined by her parents, Viktor and Emilia Kopatchinsky, on cimbalom and violin, for a rousing afternoon of music from Eastern Europe. Both parents performed and toured as members of the Moldovan state folk music ensemble, before the family emigrated to Vienna when Kopatchinskaja was 12. Complementing traditional Moldovan and Romanian folk music and dance forms of calusarii, doina, hora, and ciocarlia is music by the Hungarian composer György Kurtág, the Romanian-French spectralist Horaţiu Rădulescu, and the celebrated Romanian George Enescu.

Approximate run time: 1 hour

Saturday, June 16, 8pm, Zellerbach Hall
Bartók, Stravinsky, and Ligeti
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Philipp von Steinaecker, conductor

Divertimento for String Orchestra
Suite from L'Histoire du soldat (The Soldier's Tale)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
The closing concert of Ojai at Berkeley 2018 showcases some of the most beloved chamber works of the 20th century and features Kopatchinskaja's dazzling interpretation of Ligeti's layered and complex violin concerto. Also, music from Stravinsky's L'Histoire du soldat on the occasion of the work's centennial, and Bartók's buoyant Divertimento for Strings.

Approximate run time: 1 hour and 45 minutes with intermission


Donor Benefits

Donor Parking
As a service to our donors at the $750 level and above, we offer the opportunity to reserve parking for our performances. Reserve parking online 5 business days or more in advance of the performance, or by contacting Cal Performances' Development Department at 510.642.8653 or email donate@calperformances.org.

View my current parking benefits >>

Additional information regarding donor parking benefits can be found on our Donor Services/Parking page.

Program Notes

Program notes are available online. [PDF]