• English Baroque Soloists
Chamber Music & Orchestra

English Baroque Soloists

Sir John Eliot Gardiner, director

HAYDN Symphony No. 103 in E-flat major, Drumroll
MOZART Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra in E-flat major, K. 364
MOZART Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major, K. 543

Pioneers in historically informed performance, conductor John Eliot Gardiner and his esteemed English Baroque Soloists are best known to US audiences through their meticulously conceived, award-winning recordings of Monteverdi, Bach, Beethoven, and dramatic works of the Baroque. On an exceedingly rare stateside tour, Gardiner, a two-time Grammy winner, leads the period-instrument ensemble he founded more than 40 years ago in a bracing program of Mozart and Haydn.

Haydn’s well-loved Drumroll Symphony is a study in drama and suspense; Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante is a joyful conversation between violin and viola soloists and the orchestra; and the composer’s Symphony No. 39 is an ebullient late-period opus that reveals supreme craft and ingenuity.

“Gardiner’s unquenchable energy and probing scholarship are linked to a powerful musical intuition…. For all his attention to detail, he keeps a firm hold on the overall architecture; there is never a letup in dramatic continuity” (The New York Times).

Apr 10, 2022, 3pm
Apr 10, 2022, 3pm

On Sale Dates

Aug 3 Subscriptions and Single Tickets to Donors at the Producer’s Circle level and above
Aug 17 Subscriptions and Add-on Tickets to Donors $100-$1,499 and Renewing Subscribers*
Aug 24 Subscriptions and Single Tickets to Email Club; UC Berkeley Faculty, Staff, & Students
Aug 27 Subscriptions and Single Tickets to General Public
*You’re a Renewing Subscriber if you were a 2019/20 or 2020/21 Season Subscriber or purchased the Cal Performances at Home Fall or Spring Streaming Package.
2021/22 Season Calendar

Need Help?

  • Read our Reopening Plan

  • Email

  • Call the Ticket Office at 510.642.9988