Daniil Trifonov, piano

PROKOFIEV Sarcasms, Op. 17
SZYMANOWSKI Piano Sonata No. 3, Op. 36
DEBUSSY Pour le piano
BRAHMS Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5

Superlative pianist and probing musical mind Daniil Trifonov returns to Berkeley in his first solo recital for Cal Performances, with a fascinating program of rarely heard masterpieces penned from the mid-19th to early 20th centuries.

Trifonov made his Cal Performances debut in 2015 in a memorable duo recital with violinist Gidon Kremer, returning as a blazing soloist with the Montreal Symphony the following year—and his star has been rising steadily since then, culminating in a 2021 Grammy nomination. He plays Prokofiev’s bittersweet miniatures, Sarcasms; Szymanowski’s bold and technically demanding Piano Sonata No. 3; Debussy’s Pour le piano, and Brahms’ opulent Piano Sonata No. 3, a work of symphonic proportions and scope.

“His white-hot virtuosity is tempered by coolheaded thinking and lyrical sensitivity. Passages of teeming intensity are rendered with wondrous clarity and lightness. Yet, when appropriate, Mr. Trifonov shapes phrases and colors chords with milky richness” (The New York Times).

Apr 28, 2022, 7:30pm
Apr 28, 2022, 7:30pm

On Sale Dates

Aug 3 Subscriptions and Single Tickets to Donors at the Producer’s Circle level and above
Aug 17 Subscriptions and Add-on Tickets to Donors $100-$1,499 and Renewing Subscribers*
Aug 24 Subscriptions and Single Tickets to Email Club; UC Berkeley Faculty, Staff, & Students
Aug 27 Subscriptions and Single Tickets to General Public
*You’re a Renewing Subscriber if you were a 2019/20 or 2020/21 Season Subscriber or purchased the Cal Performances at Home Fall or Spring Streaming Package.
2021/22 Season Calendar

Need Help?

  • Read our Reopening Plan

  • Email

  • Call the Ticket Office at 510.642.9988